KIPLING'S SUSSEX - online book

An illustrated descriptive guide, to the places mentioned in
the writings of Rudyard Kipling.

Home | Order | Support | About | Contact | Search

Share page  

Previous Contents Next

140                   KIPLING'S SUSSEX
In the garden of a house in Church Street is a structure called " The Folly," built over an Early English vaulted room, twenty-seven feet long and thirteen feet wide and eleven feet high. Its history is unknown, though Mr. Lower conjectures that it had something to do with St. Leonard's Hospital, which has long since disappeared. Tradition says that a Town Hall once existed over this crypt.
In the old Plough Inn there is a stone chimney-piece of some antiquity, which is roughly carved with grotesque faces.
At the top of Broad Street is a substantial old house, into the front of which a stone has been inserted, marked " 1693, 6 W.M." (sixth year of William and Mary). This building is known as the " Place House," but its history has not been recorded.
A very pleasant day's cycle ride from Seaford or Eastbourne may be made to Arfriston—whose name in the local shibboleth is " Arlston "—and the valley of the Cuckmere. The route is through Old Eastbourne, East Dean and Friston as far as Exceat, where at a fork in the road we follow northwards a course more or less parallel to the Cuckmere as far as Berwick. In a hollow close to Exceat lies the picturesque and curious village of
Previous Contents Next